Opel & GPA Press & News
Steven McDonnell and Ger Farragher win Opel GPA Player of the League Awards for 2010
13 May 2010

Thursday, 13th May 2010: Steven McDonnell (Armagh) and Ger Farragher (Galway) have been named as Opel GPA Players of the League in football and hurling respectively, at the inaugural 2010 Awards in Dublin today.

The awards recognise the outstanding contribution both players made to their county's performances in the 2010 National Football and Hurling Leagues.

Steven McDonnell reveled in his role as Armagh captain during the spring and he was pivotal in leading his team to league promotion and a Division 2 title victory over rivals Down where McDonnell delivered six points, five from play.

Galway hurler Ger Farragher was awarded the hurling title after playing a leading role for his county throughout the league campaign. His display against Dublin in particular, where he dominated midfield and scored nine points, was significant as it secured a league final place for Galway. Once again during the decider against Cork, Ger's performance, including six points, was crucial to his county's victory.

Chairman of the Opel/GPA Football Selection Committee, Martin McHugh, wasn't the least bit surprised to see McDonnell selected by his fellow players: "Stevie looks a player recharged this season and is proving once again what a class act he is. He dominated the league final and his influence on the Armagh players around him is growing with every game. With a new impetus and a fresh appetite Steven McDonnell is capable of making a big impact on the summer campaign, starting on Sunday."

Chairman of the Hurling Selection Committee Donal O'Grady said "Ger was probably the most consistent performer throughout the league and was my man of the match in the final against Cork. His link play was first class and he controlled operations for Galway. His dead-ball striking, from all situations, was also a key factor in his county's successful spring campaign. I believe the players have made a good choice here as they will be well aware of Ger's workrate and influence."

Dessie Farrell, Gaelic Players Association Chief Executive, added: "Congratulations to Steven and Ger on their awards and on their recent league campaigns. Both players have led by example and I've no doubt will continue to do so during the summer. Thanks to Opel for their continued support of our Awards and to all the players who voted for the first monthly winners of the year."

Aislinn Connolly of Opel Ireland said: "Opel Ireland congratulates Steven and Ger on winning the Opel GPA Player of the Month Awards for April 2010. Both players have been invaluable to their counties throughout the league and we congratulate them on their league titles. We look forward to seeing them continue their impressive form in the upcoming championship and wish them the very best of luck."

The 2010 Opel GPA monthly winners will be selected by two independent panels, one for the hurling awards and one for the football awards. Each panel will consist of a chairman and three judges, including former players and members of the media:

  • The Football Selection Committee will comprise: Former All-Ireland winner with Donegal, Martin McHugh, who will again chair the football panel. McHugh will be assisted by former Dublin star Keith Barr and journalists Paddy Heaney and Shane Scanlon.
  • The Hurling Selection Committee will comprise: Donal O'Grady, former All-Ireland winning Cork hurling manager who will again chair the hurling panel alongside Galway's Cyril Farrell, Offaly's Michael Duignan and Gaelic games writer Christy O'Connor.

Back to all Press & News items